CRL Board of Directors - Catholic Rural Life

CRL Board of Directors

Catholic Rural Life is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of clergy and lay persons, drawn from diverse backgrounds and representing different parts of the country.

Most Rev. Robert D. Gruss, President
Bishop of the Diocese of Saginaw, Michigan
Saginaw, Michigan

Mr. Emery Koenig, Treasurer
Retired Vice-Chairman and Chief Risk Officer, Cargill Inc.
Wayzata, Minnesota

Ms. Cecilia Calvo, Secretary
Senior Advisor on Environmental Justice, Jesuit Conference
Washington D.C.

Most Rev. John T. Folda
Bishop of the Diocese of Fargo, North Dakota
Fargo, North Dakota

Most Rev. Myron J. Cotta
Bishop of the Diocese of Stockton, California
Stockton, California

Mr. Julian Heron
Owner, Tuttle, Taylor and Heron
Washington D.C.

Mr. Art Befort
Smith County, Kansas

Sr. Esther Mary Nickel, RSM
Religious Sisters of Mercy
Saginaw, Michigan

Mr. Michael Hirt
Director of Member Relations, Land O’Lakes Inc.
Indianapolis, Indiana

Mr. Richard Coll, USCCB Observer
Director, Office of Domestic Social Development, USCCB
Washington DC

Mr. Mike Etzel
Global Go to Market Leader Vice President, Cargill
Wayzata, Minnesota


Fr. Jesús Mariscal Guzmán
Priest in the Diocese of Yakima, Washington

People love being members of the Catholic Rural Life community.

View member benefits